16th Al Burda Prize Winners Announced at Expo 2020 Dubai

Dubai [UAE], December 20 (ANI / WAM): The Ministry of Culture and Youth announced the 30 winners of the 16th edition of the Al Burda Prize at a gala evening held on December 19, 2021 at the Dubai Exhibition Center, Expo 2020 Dubai. The prizes were divided into six categories: classical poetry, nabati poetry, classical calligraphy, modern calligraphy, ornamentation and typography.

Minister of State Sheikh Shakhbout bin Nahyan bin Mubarak Al Nahyan attended the award ceremony and honored the 30 laureates and took commemorative photos with them. Alongside Noura bint Mohammed Al Kaabi, Minister of Culture and Youth. Commenting on the ceremony, Al Kaabi thanked Sheikh Abdullah bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, for his continued support and for bringing the award globally. She said the award, at its sixteenth session, received more than 1,557 nominees in a variety of Islamic arts, securing its position as one of the world’s leading events celebrating modern Islamic art and artists.

She added that since its launch, the award aims to be a bridge to inspire cultural and artistic communication between people, aiming to illuminate the future by introducing authentic Islamic civilization, culture and arts through history. The current edition awarded the Egyptian poet Heba Alfeky the first prize for classical poetry, with the second position in the same category obtained by her compatriot Diyaa Alkilany. Lamis Al Rahabi and Bahija Masri Idlbi from Syria won the third and fourth prize respectively in the Classical Poetry category.

Abdulaziz bin Hamed Mohammed Al-Omairi of Oman won first place in Nabati Poetry, followed by Mohammad Hamdan Alanezah of Jordan in second place. Ali Alqarni of Saudi Arabia and Muzna Rabia Albrieki of Oman took third and fourth places respectively. Egyptian Mohamed Gaber Abouelella placed first in classical calligraphy, followed by Turkish Meryem Nuruzi Halilani, who took second place. Noman Tayseer Rajab from Syria, Ahmad Ali Namazi Reihanloo from Iran and Mahfod Thunnun from Iraq took third, fourth and fifth positions respectively in the Classical Calligraphy category.

The Modern Calligraphy category won four awards, Mahsa Javad Davachi of Iran taking first prize and Dhia Al-Jazaeri of Canada second. The third and fourth prizes were won respectively by Iranians Babak Mohammad Ali Hejazi and Masoud Asghar Mohebbifar. Mihriban Beyza Kaya of Turkey won the first ornamentation award, while second, third, fourth and fifth positions went to fellow Iranians Masoumeh Ahmad Moradi, Afsaneh Khademreza Mahdavi, Asgar Ahmad Moradi and Zaynab Ibrahim Shahi.

Eight winners were announced in the Typography category, namely Syrian national Duaa Abzeed, Jamal Eldin Elsamani Mohammed from Sudan, Tarek Samir Alsawwa, from Syria, Reza Babajani, from Iran, Bita Amel, from Iran, Lama Kadri, from Lebanon, Asia Alsheshani, from Jordan and Fatima Abdulla Alketbi, from the United Arab Emirates. The awards night hosted several outstanding performances from a range of genres, with artists such as Watar Orchestra of Iraq, Dubai Chamber Choir and Sheikh Mahmoud Eltohamy of Egypt, the latter with a piece titled “Anin”. Noumoucounda Cissoko from Senegal delivered a musical recital titled “Mandi Strings”, while Lebanese singer Jahida Wahba performed several songs from her catalog.

The closing performance was an Emirati Malid delivered by Rashid Al Nuaimi and Saif Fathel. The Al Burda Prize is a global platform that reflects the diversity of creative expressions in the Islamic world and seeks to revitalize the Islamic cultural and artistic movement. The award was launched by the Ministry of Culture and Youth in 1425 AH / 2004 under the patronage of Sheikh Abdullah bin Zayed to commemorate the birthday of Prophet Mohammed (pbuh). (ANI / WAM)

(This story was not edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

About Pamela Boon

Check Also

UCLA to welcome sitar legend Shujaat Husain Khan

For more than four decades, Shujaat Khan has been recognized as one of the foremost …