Australian Music Center Announces Jazzahead Grant Recipients

The Australian Music Center has announced the recipients of a $5,000 grant package for Australian jazz musicians to attend this year’s Jazzahead and form the Australian delegation to the conference in April. Hadley Agrez, Kristin Berardi, Taylor Davis, Natalie Dietz, Nick Garbett and Stuart Roger will travel to Bremen, Germany later this month, joined by Hamed Sadeghi and Reuben Lewis, who have been chosen as AMC artistic associates at Jazzahead in 2020.

Jazzahead Scholarship recipients Natalie Diets, Nick Garbett, Stuart Rogers, Taylor Davis, Hadley Agrez and Kristin Berardi. Photos provided.

“[The] Grant will provide a unique opportunity to network with the European jazz market and promote my new recording to a much wider international audience. This will potentially open doors for future international touring and festival performance opportunities,” said award-winning singer and songwriter Natalie Dietz, one of the grant recipients.

After two years of limited travel, scholarships are part of the AMC program Australian Jazz in Europe Strategy, helping to re-establish the reputation of Australian jazz and experimental music on the international stage. The winners will also be joined by Taylor Davis’ instrumental trio, Brekky Boy, who will represent Australia in the Jazzahead showcase at the conference.

“We’ve been working hard on the live show and can’t wait to play there. It will also be an amazing experience to meet and watch the other star performers from around the world,” Davis said. “There’s an eclectic mix of really epic music that’s going to be showcased there and it’s going to be very inspiring.”

The six grant recipients were chosen from a pool of competitive applications based on their extensive portfolios of work and the potential the opportunity would have for success in their respective careers. The conference will allow the six to meet international artists and producers, developing global relationships that they can use to advance their work.

“The grants were launched to enable Australian artists to expand their networks to elevate their careers and represent Australian music on a global platform, and we have some of our best local talent to do just that. This opportunity will not only benefit grant recipients, but also the Australian public, as well as the ongoing dialogue between Australian artists and the international music market,” said Catherine Haridy, CEO of the Australian Music Center.

More information on the six grant recipients and this year’s Jazzahead conference can be found here.

About Pamela Boon

Check Also

UCLA to welcome sitar legend Shujaat Husain Khan

For more than four decades, Shujaat Khan has been recognized as one of the foremost …